Install the app

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap Share then “Add to Home Screen”


Install the app

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap Share then “Add to Home Screen”

11th Summer School of the Standing Group on Interest Groups

Interest groups and lobbying in the policymaking process

30 June – 8 July 2021, Virtual event

The Summer School on Interest Groups is organised annually under the auspices of our Standing Group on Interest Groups. It brings together leading scholars in the fields of interest group politics and civil society to deliver a one-week intensive course on the core aspects of interest group research. 

Held online for the very first time, this year's Summer School turns focus to interest mobilisation throughout the different stages of policymaking: agenda-setting, policy formulation, decision-making and implementation. 

You don't want to miss this chance to learn about political advocacy and lobbying research and to network with peers and leading scholars from all over the world.

What to expect

  • Eight teaching days
  • Comprehensive courses
  • Method sessions 
  • Interactive research discussions 

Learning outcomes

  • Get all the tools necessary to embark on academic research in interest groups politics
  • Learn about cutting-edge approaches and acquire analytical skills for studying interest group activities 
  • Present your research and obtain feedback from internationally renowned scholars in the field 
  • Gain 6 ECTS credits if you participate in all sessions, complete class assignments and present a research paper


Sessions will take place 30 June – 3 July and 5 – 8 July. View the schedule here.


The Summer School is open to all students already enrolled in a PhD programme and advanced MA students with a keen interest in interest groups research.

You'll be required to write and submit a research paper by 1 June to Meta Novak which you'll present at the Summer School as part of the discussion sessions.

English is the working language of the Summer School; you are expected to have a good command of written and spoken English.

Registration and fees

Registration fee: £45

Your registration will be confirmed once your application is accepted by the Summer School coordinator and the payment is received.

Registration for the Summer School is now closed.

If registration payment is not received by the deadline as detailed on the website and invoice (available in your My ECPR Account), we reserve the right to cancel your registration.

Participating scholars

  • Anne Rasmussen University of Copenhagen
  • Joost Berkhout University of Amsterdam
  • Iskander de Bruycker Maastricht University
  • Timothy M. LaPira James Madison University, Virginia
  • Michael T. Heaney University of Glasgow
  • Andrea Pritoni University of Torino
  • Michael Dobbins University of Konstanz
  • Rafael Pablo Labanino University of Konstanz
  • Patrycja Rozbicka Aston University, Birmingham
  • Wiebke Marie Junk University of Copenhagen
  • Meta Novak University of Ljubljana
  • Alberto Alemanno The Good Lobby and HEC Paris
  • Ellis Aizenberg, University of Amsterdam
  • Jan Beyers, University of Antwerp
  • Francesca Colli, Maastricht University
  • Jesse M. Crosson, Trinity University, Texas
  • Alexander C. Furnas, University of Michigan, Michigan
  • Danica Fink Hafner, University of Ljubljana
  • Šárka Laboutková- Technical University of Liberec, Czech Republic
  • Bastiaan Redert, University of Antwerp
  • Petr Vymětal, Prague University of Economics and Business
  • Andreas Polk, Berlin School of Economics and Law
Stay Tuned: Subscribe to our Events mailing list via My ECPR
Need more details? Contact Meta Novak, University of Ljubljana 
Questions? Contact our Events Team

Loading news

Loading key dates

Share this page